Review #2- Kill La Kill

15730

This will be our second review, and we will be covering another fairly popular anime: Kill La Kill. It took me two tries to actually make it through the whole thing, but the anime is worth it in the end. There may be minor SPOILERS ahead.

Now without further ado, let us begin the review!

Summary: Ryuuko Matoi carries a large weapon shaped like half of a pair of scissors. She’s looking for the woman with the other half, who killed her father. Satsuki Kiryuuin, student council president of Honnouji Academy, is said to know the woman’s identity, so Ryuuko transfers there. Those who arrive at the school receive a special “goku uniform”, and Satsuki has used that power to rule the school in fear. -Anime News Network

Plot: 8/10

When I say plot, I am not referring to any of the female characters’ “assets”. As the creators are the same as the popular Gurren Lagann, which had an epic story in its own right, another awesome story line can be expected. Patience is recommended with this anime, as it is slow, and generic seeming as an ecchi anime at the beginning, but quickly picks up at episode 4. The premise of living/superpower granting clothes is pretty different, and if there are any fans of SpongeBob, will bring to mind the episode “Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy V.” There are several surprises along the way, each entertaining. However, as with a lot of ecchi anime, the plot can be overshadowed by the sheer exposure of fanservice this show is loaded with, which detracts from how good the story actually is.

Characters: 9/10

The characters are a very strong point for the show, and it does a good job to develop all the main protagonists and antagonists beautifully. The characters are introduced well, without having them shoved on you all at once. Again, the fanservice becomes an issue, distracting one form the characterization of everyone. Some characters are also annoying when you first meet them, such as Mako. However, the general rule is the character are easy to like.

Animation: 9/10

The animation in Kill La Kill differs from most generic anime today, which I found slightly off putting at first. However, it is extremely colorful and enjoyable once one gets use to it.

Soundtrack: 10/10

A great soundtrack for sure, through and through. It really is what kept me going through some of the tougher parts of the show, but if you need any reason to watch the show, the soundtrack is an excellent one.

Themes: 7/10

This is the section where fanservice deals the most damage. Beyond the seeming theme of nudity, there is a surprising more amount at work within the series. One of the easier themes to recgonize is resolve, or commitment to an action. Ryuko is clearly dedicated to her cause, and is the primary antagonists throughout the series, to the point of torture and near death. Loyality and familial love, even when the people are not blood relatives, is laced throughout this anime. One can see it in Mako’s families affections towards Ryuko, and her returned sentiment. Overall, the themes are very good, and while requiring a bit of searching through the fanservice, help to make the anime the good one that it is.

Final Score: 8.6/10

Final Grade: B

B-Ro’s Take

Kill la Kill is an anime that took me four tries to get into. The first time I got through half an episode when I gave up. Then I kept hearing about it so I tried again but only got through the first episode. The third time I made it through the second episode and gave up again and had no plans on trying to watch it anymore. Then RishRaff told me to watch it, after watching the third episode I was hooked. It is a very odd anime that is full of amazing action. The action is around every corner, there was always a fight and you never really know who will come out on top. But it does whatever it can to make the girls in the anime to wear as little clothes as possible, so if you don’t like that kind of thing beware. It will also leave you often questioning what you are watching, but with that said it is worth it. If you can get through the first couple of episodes you will see how awesome it is. The characters are amazing too. From the villains to hero I loved them all. The only characters that I did not like was Mako’s family, they were the comedic relief and those character usually rub me the wrong, so that was no surprise to me. Over all it was a great anime that I would give it a solid 9 out of 10. However, I would not recommend this anime to people who are just starting to watch anime, get into the community more before you start this one. – B-Ro

LowKev’s Take

It took me a few episodes to get into this one. This was probably because I started watching it right after finishing Angel Beats, so perhaps I was still recovering from that emotional bombshell. However, the end of episode 3 of Kill La Kill got me interested, and episode 4 got me hooked. The first thing to note here is that the animation style is really cool, and does a great job at visualizing the tone of the story. Yes the fanservice threw me off at first (this was only my second anime series mind you, and Angel Beats didn’t really have fanservice, so I was new to the concept), but it was surprisingly easy to get used to. The characters and strange premise took some getting used to as well, but once I did, I found myself really enjoying both. For example, I was extremely annoyed by Mako at first (and I do mean EXTREMELY). However, she quickly grew on me with her charm, outbursts, and surprisingly interesting character development. Because of this, I now see her as one of my favorite anime characters. There’s a surprising amount of depth and development to the characters and story once you are able to get past the strange premise. My rule for anime (to a certain degree) is “just go with it”, and once you do, the story gets interesting. Now, since I am a music guy, I have to commend the soundtrack. For every memorable scene in Kill La Kill, there is an equally memorable theme accompanying it. From the music that plays alongside Mako being Mako, to the epic fight songiness of Don’t Lose Your Way (whenever that track played in the show, I would get goosebumps), to the awesomeness of Blumenkranz, Kill La Kill goes from awesome to amazing with its soundtrack. Also, you can’t watch the second ending with the accompanying music and tell me it’s not freaking adorable! But anyway, like the above statement, the show does sometimes get too strange or rediculous for its own good (especially when it also wants to be taken somewhat seriously), though it’s still entertaining even in those cases. Though I’ve spoken quite highly of this series, it didn’t blow me away like Angel Beats did, though that’s not to say it didn’t blow me away at all. What the show had up its sleeve really surprised me, and for that I highly recommend it if you haven’t already given it a shot. Don’t be fooled by the fanservice and rediculous sounding premise, there’s a lot going on in this show, and it’s seriously worth your time.

Final Comments: While the initial and excessive fanservice can be off putting, the show is really better than it first appears. The soundtrack and many twists of the plot help alleviate the negative aspects.

Thanks for reading! The next review will be Itsudatte My Santa!

 

One thought on “Review #2- Kill La Kill

Leave a Reply

