Bonus Post #24- Our Favorites: AMVs

12832497_1693533444240621_8364792274087515948_n

Greetings readers! Welcome to our next Our Favorites post. We wanted to share some of our favorite AMVs, or anime music videos. These can be quite fun to watch, and a way to find some interesting new anime. So please join us as we discuss our favorite AMVs. 

RishRaff: A Piece Of Toast

AMVs hold a special place in my heart. I found out about them not long after watching my first anime. They have exposed me to a lot of anime, and been a good way for me personally to look for a new series to watch. Most AMVs I watch now are trying to find extremely creative one. A Piece of Toast easily tops my list for a number of reasons. The name alone warns you how absurd this AMV gets. It focuses, at least initially, on the cliche of characters who are running late in an anime to eat toast. The rest of the AMV turns into a mash-up of a number of anime, often featuring some of the anime’s most rediculous scenes. Some examples of appearing anime include Angel Beats, Engaged to the Unidentified, Magi, and Kill La Kill, to name a few. The music switches around a lot, but is mostly just electronic sounding. In all honesty, I just enjoy this AMV so much for its humorous situations and scatterbrained atmosphere.

B-Ro: Ship Happens

My favorite AMV was an easy pick for me. When I was told that this was our next topic I instantly knew what AMV I was going to pick, Ship Happens. Ship Happens is a really well put together AMV. It has a parody song of I Love it, called I Ship it. This is a song about a crazy crack shipper. This song reminds me a bit of myself because all of my ships seem to be crack ships. It is a very catchy and creative song. The video is very creative and cool too. The anime it as in it are Haruhi Suzumiya, Oreimo, FMA Brotherhood, Attack on Titan, Sailor Moon, DBZ, Madoka Magica, Ouran Highschool Host Club, Death Note, Durarara!, Code Geass, Azumanga Daioh, Steins;Gate, Young Justice, Kill la Kill, Fruits Basket, Trigun, Cowboy Bebop, Evangelion 3.33, Naruto, Free!, Toradora, Guilty Crown, Vampire Knight, and Avatar: The Last Airbender. It mostly involves Haruhi going around making her crack ships and irritating other anime characters. There are some really interesting goofs off of some of the anime. One example is that Haruhi has a Ship Note. You really should check out this AMV if you have not already. – B-Ro

LowKev: Tribute to Hayao Miyazaki

Let me start by saying I’m pretty new to the concept of AMVs. Now that watched a bunch, I admire the creativity that a lot of them possess, and it was extremely difficult to pick just 1. I was first tempted to put the AMV of Slowdive’s “Crazy for You” as my favorite because of the visual tone and song choice. The channel it comes from, “Bakartkung AMVs Indie and Alternative rock” is full of AMVs with awesome songs. I also really enjoy “Anime 101” for its awesome level of creativity and imagination. However my absolute favorite AMV (though I’m not sure if some will consider it such) has to be “Tribute to Hayo Miyazaki”. The AMV features 3d rendered versions of Miyazaki film settings and backgrounds in which clips of the actual film characters play. The 3d’s absolutely stunning, and the Ghibli film clips fit right in. The creator thoroughly covers each part of Miyazaki’s amazing career, and seeing them all come together in on the same screen is something to behold. All of this happens to the tune of one of Joe Hisashi’s greatest compositions, “One Summer’s Day”. In only 3 minutes, the creator perfectly shows why Miyazaki is so talented and why his films are so special, and I can’t help but tear up when I watch it. This AMV takes the charm and magic in these films, and makes something new and exciting. For that, it’s my all time favorite.

We appreciate you all for reading this post! What is your favorite AMV? What do you think of our picks? We’d love to hear what you have to say! Also, do not forget to leave suggestions below about some other Our Favorites topics you’d like us to do. We have more Bonus Posts like this one that you can find in the Bonus Posts Archive if you are interested in reading more. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Bonus Post #24- Our Favorites: AMVs

  1. AMVs are wonderful creations. They’re a catalogue of anime you’ve yet to discover, and how I’ve discord a few of my own favourites like Wolf’s Rain. I like your suggestions too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

