Bonus Post #27- Our Favorites: Canon Couples

12832497_1693533444240621_8364792274087515948_n

Welcome everyone to another Our Favorites! Today we wanted to talk about shipping, specifically ones that were canon (we are going to have one for crack ships another time). If you do not know what shipping is, it is two characters that a viewer believes should be in a romantic relationship. With that cleared up, lets jump right in!

RishRaff: Kanade x Otonashi (Angel Beats!)

As much as it pains me to admit it, I really am a serious romantic at heart. In most anime, I am almost always looking for a romantic subplot to be going on between two characters. I always try to make sure my ships are at least somewhat canon, as I get really upset when they are not. That being said, one of my favorite anime is Angel Beats, and Kanade x Otonashi are easily my favorite couple. Individually, I really enjoy their characters, but when they are together they really seem to work well. They have a very complex relationship, starting out as enemies before eventually basically becoming lovers. However, the romance ends up being bitter-sweet in the end. Everyone that has watched this show knows those parting moments between Kanade and Otonashi is a big cry moment…

B-Ro: Sento x Kanie (Amagi Brilliant Park)

Let me start by saying I do not have very many cannon ships and that I am not the biggest fan of them. I mostly have crack ships, but that is for another day. I do have a couple cannon ships that I really like, but my favorite would have to be Kanie and Sento from Amagi Brilliant Park. They are a very good couple and fit each other very well. Kanie is very full of himself and often pushes himself a bit too much. Sento on the other hand is very clam and knows her weaknesses. While at first the just butt heads but then they slowly end up developing feelings for each other. This is not rushed like most anime relationships and it feels more realistic. They truly fit each other well and I love both of the characters making this my favorite cannon ship. – B-Ro

LowKev: Ichika x Kaito (Ano Natsu de Matteru)

The concept of shipping has always been an interesting one for me. Sometimes I have a very clear ship in mind that I’m passionate about, and other times I find myself just along for the ride, not caring as much about ships as long as the characters interact well. I can name my favorite game ship easily (Cloud and Tifa all the way!!!), however my favorite cannon anime ship was a tough one… But I decided I must go with Ichika and Kaito from Ano Natsu de Matteru. I didn’t initially ship them, and was more just along for the ride for the first few episodes as Kaito interacted with her and Kanna. However I soon started rooting for Ichika and Kaito as their chemistry grew, and slight rooting eventually turned into full on ship. They made an awesome couple, from the way they interacted to how their glasses clicked when they kissed. I celebrated when they finally did kiss, lamented when she was taken away, and almost jumped out of my seat from excitement at the very last scene with her promised return to Kaito. There are numerous anime relationships that I really enjoyed, but this one definitely brought a lot of feels for me, and probably had me specifically rooting for it the most. With that in mind, I’ll declare it my favorite cannon ship.

Thank you everyone for reading! We hope you enjoyed this! What is your favorite ship in anime? We would love to hear your thoughts! Be sure to check out our Bonus Post Archive to see what other Bonus Post articles we have that you might be interested in.

6 thoughts on “Bonus Post #27- Our Favorites: Canon Couples

Leave a Reply

