Bonus Post #37- Our Favorites: Childhood Anime

12832497_1693533444240621_8364792274087515948_n

We welcome you to our next Our Favorites post! Today we decided to do a sort of Throwback Thursday to some of our favorite childhood anime, when we did not necessarily know what anime was. So please do enjoy!

RishRaff: Pokemon (Advanced Series)

I did not watch a lot of TV as a child, but I did manage to see a few anime. Some examples include Yu-Gi-Oh and Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo. However, I was, and still am, a huge Pokemon nerd when I first got into it in like 2nd (?) grade. I started out playing the 3rd generation games, and have been hooked ever since. I came into the anime in the Advanced series, and completely enjoyed it. Pokemon is more or less indirectly responsible to my current anime love, since I got exposed to other anime through writing Pokemon fanfictions (and true to my love for Advanced series, I was a pretty hardcore Advanceshipper). I have seen the original series, and up through Diamond & Pearl, but Advanced still remained my favorite. Maybe it was a nostalgia thing, or I was more familiar with Hoenn, but nonetheless, it was always a thrill to watch Ash, May, Brock, and Max explore the world of Pokemon, and it appealed, and still does, to my adventurous spirit.

B-Ro: Dragon Ball Z

I actually did watch a lot of anime when I was a kid. My favorite by far was Dragon Ball Z. I remember being a kid and my father, brother, and I would gather around the TV every night to watch it. The animation style seemed so cool along with the characters and their designs. We would watch while my brother would get so into it that he would have asthma attacks. Afterwards I would beat on my dad all hyped up from the action that was just on. I have so many fond memories of this show making it my favorite childhood anime. – B-Ro

LowKev: Naruto

I watched a decent amount of anime as a kid, primarily through Saturday a.m. segments and good old Toonami. The one that I was into the most was probably Naruto. Naruto fascinated me as a kid. The action and ninja moves were really awesome. I liked the characters (I thought Sasuke was so cool, and Gaara creeped me out), and the situations they were in were pretty cool as well. I also recall things getting pretty dark and serious at times, which I also loved. Maybe I should watch the first season again for nostalgia’s sake. However, the best part of the show for me was the ramen!!! Naruto made me want to really try ramen, and sparked my love for noodles in general. I probably wouldn’t be looking into ways to make tonkotsu ramen or shio ramen in a campus apartment now if it weren’t for Naruto. Oh, and I also remember my mother getting quite mad when she walked in on Naruto doing that “sexy jutsu” move… That made for an awkward moment…

Thank you all for reading! What were some anime you watched in your childhood? Be sure to check us out on Facebook or Twitter, which we would really appreciate. Check out some of our old Bonus Posts in the Bonus Post Archive as well. Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

