Bonus Post #58- Our Favorites: Anime Shorts

12832497_1693533444240621_8364792274087515948_n

Thank you all for joining us for Shorts Week! We all hope you enjoyed the reviews we wrote, and may have even watched some of the anime shorts yourself. However, all good things must come to an end. We’ll be reflecting back on Shorts Week now by doing a post about our favorite anime shorts. Just to note, we are considering any anime with an episode run time of less than 10 minutes a short. So, enjoy!

RishRaff: Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan

Related image

Unlike my colleagues, I have been enjoying the anime shorts since my earliest anime days, and sometimes even prefer the format to the full length episodes. As such, I have watched a relatively large number and had a hard time picking a favorite. A number of those we reviewed this week rank among my favorites, including Tonari no Seki-kun and Honobono Log. Yet, my true favorite is one of the very first anime we reviewed: Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan. From a critical standpoint, this anime is not the greatest. However, as a sucker for white haired characters, the title character immediately drew my attention. That and the quick laughs give this anime plenty of charm that I woud recommend for anyone.

Check out our review for this anime HERE.

B-Ro: Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken

Image result for i can't understand what my husband is saying

So when we started to talk about writing this I was sure I was going to write about Honobon Log, but I Don’t Know What My Husband Is Saying just blew me away. To be honest I did not even think I liked anime shorts that much be for this week, but boy was I surprised. It had surprisingly deep characters who developed throughout the show. Which was way more than I expected from a short. It is also very funny. It has references to anime, sexual humor, and crude humor which are all hit right on time and not so often that you get sick of them. I cannot recommend this short enough. Everyone should really give this anime a shot. If you need more convincing then check out our review on the anime. – B-Ro

Check out the review HERE.

LowKev: Tonari no Seki-kun

Image result for seki kun ending

Admitedly, I generally don’t find myself enjoying shorts as much as full on shows. Probably because it’s harder to get into a story or characters with a shorter runtime. However, I do love the shorts format, and there are some really amazing ones out there, such as the hilariously interesting I Don’t Understand What My Husband is Saying, or the trippy fun that is Di Gi Charat. However, my favorite short so far would have to be Tonari No Seki-kun. This show really uses the shorts format to its full potential, taking a simple idea and running with it in numerous fun and interesting ways. It always managed to leave me laughing and having a really good time. It also has the best music I have heard so far, with an opening and closing that fits perfectly with the concept. It’s the show I can see myself rewatching the most for some quick fun, and that makes it my personal favorite (at least until I finally watch Nyanpire)

Check out the review HERE.

What’s your favorite anime short? What did you think of Shorts Week? Be sure to comment and let us know!

Thank you all for your support this week! We had a lot of fun doing this theme week and hope to do something similar in the future. See you for the next review!

 

7 thoughts on “Bonus Post #58- Our Favorites: Anime Shorts

  1. I really enjoyed your shorts week! I think that anime shorts are a really interesting format, and it’s fun to see the different uses that can be made of an extremely limited run time. Tonari no Seki-kun, and I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying are definitely some of my favourites. I haven’t seen Miss Monochrome, but I’ve heard some positive things about it from a few different sources now, so I may have to check it out!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for following our shorts week! I definitely agree that shorts are definitely a more interesting take on the typical anime. Its also nice that you can get through the entire season often in like 45 minutes haha. Miss Monochrome is a lot of fun, just because of how ridiculous it can be, if you need any more incentive to check it out. There are a number of other shorts I like, including Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan and Senyuu, if you’ve seen either of those?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve seen Senyuu, which I liked but didn’t love, but not Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan; I may have to check it out. A few other shorts I really liked not mentioned here include Bananya, Wakakozake, and Encouragement of Climb.

        I also definitely like the fact that you can often get through a whole series in less than an hour, or watch an episode in a few minutes! It’s a good way to break up other series or sometimes I just like to watch something really short to unwind near bed time.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I really have to check out Encouragement of Climb; I’ve heard a lot of good things about it but haven’t seen it. And yes, they definitely do make good before bed anime haha. I noticed on your blog that you’ve been keeping up with Piace: Watashi no Italian. How does that one rate on your anime shorts list. out of curiosity?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve been really enjoying Piace! I’ve dropped off on episodic posts (and posting in general) because of some personal things, though I’m hoping to be a bit more active again. It’s got a combination of tasty-looking anime food and lively comedy.

        This season I’m watching a lot of shorts actually. I’m also watching Chiruran One Half, Ai Mai Mi Surgical Friends, Forest Fairy Five, Nobunaga no Shinobi, Nyanbo, Nyanko Days, and Sengokuchojyugiga. Forest Fairy Five is really bad (I like watching really bad shorts sometimes, this scratches the same itch as Naria Girls), Nyanko Days and Nobunaga no Shinobi are pretty great, and I’d say that everything else is pretty average; fine to watch but not outstanding. I just love having lots of different series to sample each week I guess. I’m pretty inclined to check out just about every short series airing these days, unless it’s got horror themes.

        Liked by 2 people

      4. I understand the avoidance of horror haha. Piace has been rather great haha! I’m a huge fan of cooking anime, so its been a joy to watch to get ideas on new recipes for me to try myself. The colorful atmosphere makes it that much more enjoyable too. I haven’t really been keeping up with many shorts right now except Piace just because the general busyness of life, but maybe I’ll check some of them out!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

